Birchbox – March 2016

My Birchbox came today!

Birchbox is a $10 a month beauty subscription service. You can sign up here to get 5 deluxe-sized samples sent to your house in a pretty new box each month. It’s a fabulous way to collect different beauty items and get to try products you may not otherwise purchase on your own.

There are two reasons why I love Birchbox… This first is because there is a level of customization you’re involved in that other beauty boxes don’t offer. Each month you get to decide between a preselected mix of items or pick one item that you’re guaranteed to get and all others are selected for you. I also love Birchbox because the rewards system is really great! You can go online and review the products that were sent to you and get $5 back per box to spend on the site.

Let’s dig in, shall we?!

image

image

Amika – “Perk Up Dry Shampoo”

This is the product that I hand-picked this month. It smells great and is perfect for my summer weekend trips to the cabin. I use dry shampoo all the time and find that buying minis in the store gets really expensive, so this is perfect for me.

Wilma Schumann – “Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads”

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on these and already tried them out. They are unlike anything I’ve ever tried! This pack comes with two gel patches that you put on for 20 minutes. They have a refreshing feeling and work great to hydrate your under-eye area.

Cargo -“Land Down Under Eye Shadow Palette”

I believe I got the color duo Beach and Suntan, which are sandy gold and smimmery chocolate. (Does anybody else find that these are really common colors to get in beauty subscriptions across the board?) They are pretty colors,but I have tons of these shades so I’m not overly excited to try them out.

Coola – “SPF 50 Sport Mango”

This smells so yummy! I tend to only use a separate sun tan lotion during the summer because my make up usually already contains SPF. However, this will definitely come in handy for my upcoming trip to Key Largo. It’s light, so would work well on the face.

Marcelle – “BB Cream Golden Glow”

I’m a little surprised this isn’t advertised as a tinted product because the color is very dark. I don’t tend to use BB Creams because I prefer a more fuller coverage look, but again will probably save this for Key Largo because I think it might be perfect for the pool and beach.

My Rating: 3-star

This month’s box was filled with a lot of good-to-have items that will likely be useful for summer traveling, but only had one product that I was super excited to try. I’m a little disappointed because up until now I have always gotten one new product in the box that I fell in love with right away. This time I don’t see anything like that. Still, I do think that the price of the box was a great value and am content with what I got, XOXO.

10 thoughts on “Birchbox – March 2016

  1. Bella Bee says:

    I wish I got those eye pads! I feel like my box was a complete dud and waste of money… I’m gonna review it soon. The only thing I was excited for was the coastal scents eye shadow, and when I got it I received basically two black shades that were smaller than my pinky nail. The box was maybe worth $5 at most.
    How long have you been subscribed to Birchbox? Are you happy with your sub or does it take a while?

    Like

    • Life in Lipstick says:

      I followed you to see your review 🙂 This is my fourth month and my least favorite box. I’m isually really happy with it. Been a longer member of Ipsy and find that every several months I will get a dud. Hope your next month is better!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bella Bee says:

        Thank you! I followed back 🙂
        I just signed up for Ipsy and am expecting my first one any day now! I was originally going to go with Ipsy over Birchbox but I read some bad reviews.. But now I just have to have it!!

        Like

  2. mindalynmadeup says:

    It is a shame you did not like this months Birchbox as much as I did…have you tried the curated boxes instead of the random ones? My first Ipsy bag is coming in Wednesday, and I am beyond excited to see it, do my blog on it and then come over here and see what you got 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

